Masters of British Comic Art nominated for prestigious Eisner Award

David Roach’s fascinating chronicle of the key artists of the British comics industry, Masters of British Comic Art, has been nominated in this year’s Eisner Awards, the renowned comic book awards.

This wildly entertaining and educational tome has been nominated in the ‘Best Comics-Related Book’ category.

Painstakingly researched and featuring artwork from a vast number highly-acclaimed artists carefully scanned from original artwork, Masters of British Comic Art features a Who’s Who of talent, including Brian Bolland, Yvonne Hutton, Dave Gibbons, celebrated greats such as Don Lawrence and lost masters like Reg Bunn and Shirley Bellwood. Author and 2000 AD artist David Roach takes us on a journey through time detailing the surprising and fascinating evolution of the art from its humble beginnings to its current world-conquering status.

The winners of this year’s Eisner Awards will be announced as part of the online Comic-Con@Home convention in July, as San Diego Comic Con has been postponed until 2022.



Rebellion’s Head of Publishing Ben Smith said: “I am delighted this landmark book has been recognised in the Eisner nominations. The product of a lifetime of work and study by David Roach, it was an extraordinary collaboration between the author, artists and art collectors to assemble the incredible gallery of original artwork with which the book and its enthralling history elucidate the much misunderstood, and extraordinary, history of British comics. The Rebellion editorial team of Keith Richardson and Oliver Pickles and designer Sam Gretton were unstinting in their efforts to make the look as stunning as it is.”

Named for acclaimed comics creator Will Eisner, the awards are celebrating their 33rd year of bringing attention to and highlighting the best publications and creators in comics and graphic novels. The 2021 Eisner Awards judging panel consists of comics retailer Marco Davanzo (Alakazam Comics, Irvine, CA), Comic-Con Board member Shelley Fruchey, librarian Pamela Jackson (San Diego State University), comics creator/publisher Keithan Jones (The Power Knights, KID Comics), educator Alonso Nuñez (Little Fish Comic Book Studio), and comics scholar Jim Thompson (Comic Book Historians).

The Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards are presented by the San Diego Comic Convention (Comic-Con), a California Nonprofit Public Benefit Corporation organized for charitable purposes and dedicated to creating the general public’s awareness of and appreciation for comics and related popular artforms, including participation in and support of public presentations, conventions, exhibits, museums, and other public outreach activities which celebrate the historic and ongoing contribution of comics to art and culture.